BULLET St. Louis City Resolution Number 175
November 16, 2012
Resolutions adopted during the 2012 session by the St. Louis City Board of Aldermen have been converted to electronic format by the staff of the St. Louis Public Library. This electronic version has been done for the interest and convenience of the user. These are unofficial versions and should be used as unofficial copies.

Official printed copies of St. Louis City Ordinances may be obtained from the Register's Office at the St. Louis City Hall.

Honorable Alderman Kacie Starr Triplett

WHEREAS, Alderwoman Kacie Starr Triplett will be resigning as the Alderwoman of the 6th Ward; and

WHEREAS, during her five plus year tenure, Alderwoman Triplett has worked tirelessly on behalf of the people that she represents; and

WHEREAS, Alderwoman Triplett served as a member on the Convention, Tourism, Arts & Humanities, Ways & Means, Public Utilities and Neighborhood Development Committees. She was also Vice-Chairperson of the Health & Human Services and Engrossment, Rules, Resolutions & Credentials Committees; and

WHEREAS, she has been featured in Oprah Winfrey's O Magazine and also Ebony Magazine as a Young Leader under the Age of 30. Receiving her Bachelor's degree from Hampton University and her Master's degree in International Relations from Webster University, Kacie has traveled extensively and represented the United States on several international delegations throughout the continent of Asia. She is also the current host of a television show called Inspire St. Louis, which features young professionals making a difference in the local community; and

WHEREAS, Alderwoman Triplett sponsored and passed the city's first comprehensive vacant building ordinance, known as "The St. Louis Vacant Building Initiative"; and

WHEREAS, she held forums and workshops to help inform the city's homeless population and created a check box on tax bills known as "Hope for the Homeless." During her tenure the 6th Ward had the first Platinum LEED certified commercial building in the City and the first sustainable "green" alley; and

WHEREAS, economic development has also been a keystone of Alderwoman Triplett's efforts, including the highly successful Jefferson Commons and Chouteau Crossing; and

WHEREAS, Alderwoman Triplett upheld and embraced the proud family tradition of public service set by her grandfather, John Bass; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Aldermen wishes Kacie nothing but the best in the future.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Aldermen of the City of St. Louis that we pause in our deliberations to express our sincere appreciation to Alderman Kacie Starr Triplett for her many contributions to this Board, the residents of the Sixth Ward, and the entire City of St. Louis and we further wish her success in all of her future endeavors, and we direct the Clerk of his Board to spread a copy of this Resolution across the minutes of these proceedings and to prepare a commemorative copy to the end that it may be presented to our distinguished honoree.

Introduced on the 18th day of November, 2012 by:

Honorable Lewis E. Reed, 
   President of the Board of Aldermen
Honorable Charles Quincy Troupe, 
   Alderman 1st Ward 
Honorable Dionne Flowers, 
   Alderwoman 2nd Ward
Honorable Freeman Bosley, Sr., 
   Alderman 3rd Ward
Honorable Samuel L. Moore, 
   Alderman 4th Ward
Honorable Tammika Hubbard, 
   Alderwoman 5th Ward
Honorable Phyllis Young, 
   Alderwoman 7th Ward
Honorable Stephen J. Conway, 
   Alderman 8th Ward
Honorable Kenneth A. Ortmann, 
   Alderman 9th Ward
Honorable Joseph Vollmer, 
   Alderman 10th Ward
Honorable Thomas Villa, 
   Alderman 11th Ward
Honorable Larry Arnowitz, 
   Alderman 12th Ward
Honorable Alfred Wessels, Jr., 
   Alderman 13thWard
Honorable Carol Howard, 
   Alderwoman 14th Ward
Honorable Jennifer Florida, 
   Alderwoman 15th Ward
Honorable Donna Baringer, 
   Alderwoman 16th Ward
Honorable Joseph Roddy, 
   Alderman 17th Ward
Honorable Terry Kennedy,
   Alderman 18th Ward
Honorable Marlene E. Davis, 
   Alderwoman 19th Ward
Honorable Craig Schmid, 
   Alderman 20th Ward
Honorable Antonio D. French, 
   Alderman 21st Ward
Honorable Jeffrey L. Boyd, 
   Alderman 22nd Ward
Honorable Joseph Vaccaro, 
   Alderman 23rd Ward
Honorable Scott Ogilvie, 
   Alderman 24th Ward
Honorable Shane Cohn, 
   Alderman 25th Ward
Honorable Frank Williamson, 
   Alderman 26th Ward
Honorable Chris Carter, 
   Alderman 27th Ward
Honorable Lyda Krewson, 
   Alderwoman 28th Ward

Adopted this the 18th day of November, 2012 as attested by:

David W. Sweeney
Clerk, Board of Aldermen

Lewis E. Reed
President, Board of Aldermen

Return to Top of Charter, Code, and Ordinances
Return to Resolutions